You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 08:55 PM Title: Chapter 24 - Unspoken Desire

“But, she looked so frail, so helpless and she was his…friend.”  But he has no qualms leaving her to go shopping, shagging her in her frail state, or alerting her whereabouts to the people close to her only after it was clear that he won’t be getting sex from her?  Have I mentioned my intense dislike of Malfoy yet?  “This wasn’t his doing.”  Has he ever done something that was his fault, not Voldemort’s, or his father’s, or Potter’s, or Weasley’s, or Hermione’s …?

“This was her friend, but it was obvious that he wanted more.”  Why does she allow herself to constantly be around him in these situations?  And please don’t blame this entirely on hormones.

“No!  You are incredibly sexy, Draco and well, I haven’t done anything since…um…well, since summer and it…I mean you are fantastic, but…I just…I can’t…I’m in love with Ron.”  She loves Ron enough to tell another man how sexy he is while they’re both in a state of undress in the other man’s bed?  This isn’t the first time Hermione’s said these things to Draco either (astronomy tower).  Actions speak louder than words.  She can say “I love you, Ron” as much as she wants, but does it mean anything if she’s kissing and touching Draco while admiring his body every other chapter?  At some point it doesn’t matter who initiated it or how long it lasted; enough is enough. 

“She reached up, cupped his cheek and pulled him down to her level before placing a soft kiss on his cheek.  ‘Thank you, Draco.’ Draco smiled, looking at her in a way that made Ron’s gut twist.”  This is really hard for me to say.  I’m a diehard R/Hr shipper, always have been and will be, and I know that Hermione is pregnant.  But these lines sealed it for me.  I do not think that Ron should be in a romantic relationship with her.  I don’t think he should or would abandon her and the baby, but I can’t see how it would ever work out between them when Hermione kisses another man, one who has just admitted his love for her, one who has just seen her in states of undress, one who has just intimately touched her, in front of Ron.  We see his reaction to only the kiss and that was bad enough—he didn’t even know about the other stuff that just happened or the things that happened the other seemingly endless times Hermione and Draco get together, which Hermione has hidden from him (he’d have a stroke if he knew about those).  We see his reaction and Hermione is completely oblivious, once again more concerned with Draco’s feelings than with Ron’s.  Quite frankly Ron deserves better. 

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 08:42 PM Title: Chapter 23 - A House Guest

I can empathize with Hermione wanting to make sure that Ron’s proposal comes from love, not obligation.  But I’m disappointed that she didn’t voice her concerns to him.  Where’s her trust in him, the trust she asked of him when she was at Malfoy’s apartment earlier?

Which, by the way, she’s gone to again.  I know she’s pregnant and feels as if she failed herself and Ron, but Merlin, it’s hard to empathize with someone who makes the same mistakes over, and over, and over again.  Especially when those actions are so hurtful to the one she claims to love and the one who is so devoted to her.  She has the complete devotion of a wonderful, handsome, and capable man; she has a love that people spend their whole lives looking for.  The callousness with which she treats this treasure is staggering.  I feel guilty about saying this, but sometimes it’s even hard for me to see why Ron should stay with her.  She treats him like dirt, walks all over him, and hides things from him (even before the pregnancy) instead of being honest about the things that are bothering her.

Once again, we get to see the chivalrous Draco Malfoy: “Draco knew he could simply reveal the truth and his father would be absolutely delighted, but there were no assurances that he wouldn’t just take Hermione from Draco’s flat and that just wasn’t something he was prepared to deal with.  It had taken him months to get to where they were and his father wasn’t going to take her from him, not now.”  What great concern he has for Hermione, hiding her from his father so that his father can’t take away something that’s his.  Can’t let her get away before he can bed her, right?

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 08:37 PM Title: Chapter 21 - Dreams, Screams & Expectations

Loved Ron and Hermione's reaction to the pregnancy.  You can really see the devotion Ron has to his family, and it ws great to see the conviction both had regarding wanting the baby.

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 08:35 PM Title: Chapter 20 - Discoveries

This chapter reminded me of the times I read people’s reviews and the spot-on predictions they had regarding guardians and intercepted owls, while I had no theories of my own.  It made me feel kind of stoo-ped, lol!  That’s the beauty of reading a completed fic, though—the answers are already put to paper.Loved Protective-Older-Brother!Bill.

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 08:34 PM Title: Chapter 19 - Distractions and Discussions

“All those times he turned on the charm, touched her, kissed her and each time with the clear intent to earn her trust for Voldemort’s gain, instead became earning her trust for Draco Malfoy’s gain.  He wanted her and it was becoming more important to him than fulfilling some task for the Dark Lord.  It was becoming personal.”  This quote is, as you’ve noticed, why I hate Malfoy.  Everything he does is for himself.  He doesn’t love Hermione; he loves himself and his happiness and he sees her as a commodity that will make his life better.  He doesn’t love Hermione; he loves himself and his pride and he can’t stand the thought of anything choosing “the Weasel” over himself.  He hasn’t truly chosen a side in the war because he can’t figure out who the winning team is yet. 

The last paragraph kills me: “It was chock full of all the right things to say: apologetic, friendly, and emotional.  When he finished, he smiled as he read it through, sure it would pull on all of her heart strings just as planned.  With his quill poised to sign the letter, he paused and let out a deep breath.  Despite his instructions, he still held on to a spot within him that was only meant for her and it told him to add something to this letter – something that would be from the real and true Draco Malfoy, not the manipulative, contriving louse he had become and so he closed it.”  Is he listening to himself?  The whole letter is manipulative.    

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 08:27 PM Title: Chapter 18 - A Little Remodeling Job

Harry can be thick sometimes, can’t he?

I just want to say thanks for listening to me complain in some chapters, lol!  I don't know what it is, but some of Hermione's and Draco's actions pick at me in a way that usually doesn't bother me.  I've never left such detailed rants before at all.  I've felt the urge to use the review pages as my own personal pensieve before I go crazy, if you know what I mean.  I do enjoy the story, though--I wouldn't review if I didn't--so I hope I've avoided being too irritating!  That said, I figured I'd make use of the last days of my summer break and give the rest of my reviews with (uh oh) a few more comments.  I'd love to know if you think I've made any points at all or if I'm just full of it.  Turnabout is fair play, after all!

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 02:46 PM Title: Chapter 17 - Plush and Inviting

*feels rant coming on* 

“He always put Hermione first, helping her look at flats, bringing her lunch at her office, taking her for walks.  Having an official steady girlfriend had turned him into a new person.”  I’m trying hard to see why Ron keeps putting up with Hermione’s actions.  She knows that when she sees Draco it pains Ron.  So her solution is to meet up with Draco in his apartment behind Ron’s back.  She also decides to do this Saturday night, because that’s such an obvious meeting time for platonic friends, right?  Then she goes into Malfoy’s bedroom and is surprised when he comes on to her again.  And why wouldn’t she be surprised, it’s the first time that’s happened, right? …. Oh, I guess not.   How many times is she going to let this happen?  How naïve can she possibly be?  It’s like she’s five years old.  She’s more concerned with Draco’s feelings than Ron’s; her concern for letting Draco down easily this time—again—is unfathomable to me.   She’d rather let Draco touch and kiss her while letting him down easy than stand up forcefully for her relationship with Ron, the person who she supposedly values the most.  She could take care of things once and for all if she would be forceful and stop this my-lips-say-no-but-my-eyes-say-yes “we’re just friends…for now” junk.  It’s clear that Ron puts her first in his life; it’s clear that she doesn’t do the same.  Ron’s a better person than I am for forgiving her so quickly considering her actions, and considering the fact that when Ron called her a slut—for circumstances she seems to repeat over and over—she held a grudge against him for months.  I suppose it’s not surprising that Ron would forgive her; he loves her and he is very loyal.  It’d be nice to see Hermione stop taking advantage of that loyalty.

“If you can’t trust me, then we can’t have an honest relationship.”  Who is the one going behind the other’s back?  It’s almost outrageous that after what happened, Hermione doesn’t admit even an iota of a mistake and instead lays a guilt trip on Ron’s reaction, posing the situation as a referendum on his trust in her.

PS: Whew, I feel like Vesuvius.



Author's Response: Well, you did "spew" a lot of hot stuff there!  Yikes.  You really hate Draco, don't you?!  I usually hate him, too, but I think underneath it all there might be some redeaming qualities and perhaps Hermione's actions will, although confusing to Ron, will bring about some good.  Do you think?  Krakatoa is waiting right after Mount St. Helens.  Just say when!

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 02:36 PM Title: Chapter 16 - His One and Only

I’ve mentioned this before, but I love how you’ve made Ron into a poet!  Very original.

I’ll give Draco credit for throwing his father off of Hermione’s trail, but I don’t buy that he did it only out of compassion or altruism (I hope I haven’t started the apocalypse by using “Draco” and “altruism” in the same sentence, even if it is in a negative relationship).  His attitude strikes me as that of a child who hides his toy so that no one else can play with it.

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 02:32 PM Title: Chapter 15 - An Unlikely Friendship

 It was nice to see Hermione addressing Ron’s insecurities in this chapter; she was aware of how her actions were making him feel.   Too often in this story it seems she ignores the consequences her actions have on him. 

“It was the ‘don’t you start something now’ look that Ron had seen many times before.”  This line illustrates that point nicely.  I think that eventually Ron would accept Draco and Hermione’s friendship if Hermione would stop putting herself in situations where it’s likely that Malfoy would make a move on her.  She’s incredibly naïve regarding Malfoy’s behavior around her, much to Ron’s disadvantage.

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2010 02:28 PM Title: Chapter 14 - Apart and Together

This pushes it over 100 reviews!

Seeing Ginny’s devotion to Harry in this chapter was excellent.

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 09:46 PM Title: Chapter 13 - Constellations and Confessions

So let me get this straight... Ron's in Egypt putting his life on the line for the Order and Hermione's kissing his biggest enemy behind his back when he's away?  Even if she wasn't totally into it, she almost gave in until the last second, and tells Draco of this fact.  How much does she actually care for Ron?  Then after it happens, she still lets Draco be close to her, touch her, and kiss her on the cheek.  If Ron pulled this junk with Pansy Parkinson, Hermione would never speak to him again, Harry would beat him to a pulp, and Ginny would hex his bits off and feed them to the giant squid.

On top of all that, she never tells Ron that she kissed Draco, saw him naked, or about the repeated advances that he makes towards her, let alone the feelings of attraction she feels towards Draco.  Instead, she belittles Ron for "overreacting" when he accuses Draco of things that are actually happening.  Ron deserves better than what Hermione is showing him.

PS: thanks for reading one of the rants I warned you about, lol!  I felt like I had to say these things or my head would explode.



Author's Response: Hey - rant away!  I don't mind rants.  I means that I've written something that really makes you feel passionate.  It's about the best compliment you can give!!  Glad to see you're reading another one!!  Can't wait for the rest of the reviews.  I do read every single one.

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 09:14 PM Title: Chapter 12 - Acting

Again. yay for snogging!

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 09:13 PM Title: Chapter 11 – Ron’s Birthday Present

The banter between Ron and Hermione in the hospital was great.  And finally some snogging.  Yay for snogging!

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 09:11 PM Title: Chapter 10 – A Grieving Heart

Loved that moment at the end!

Reviewer: idol269 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2010 09:08 PM Title: Chapter 8 – Advice and Poetry

Loved the Ron and Bill conversation.  And Ron reading/writing poetry?  Nice touch.  I always hate it when Ron is depicted as an idiot incapable of even speaking in complete sentences, etc.

You must login (register) to review.