You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Baby Boomer Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/2007 06:30 AM Title: Chapter 6

I love this story!!  Can't wait to read the next chapter.  "Whatever happened to Dudley" is one question I'm sorry Ms. Rowling didn't answer in DH. 

Reviewer: BenRG Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/01/2007 10:33 AM Title: Chapter 6

The 'heart bond' is an interesting idea.  Given how inbreeding is causing real problems in the wizarding world (*coughCrabbeandGoylecough*), it may have been some enterprising wizard's attempt to widen the gene pool.  I think that the condition that, for the bond to exist, the participants' hearts must "match" will give Dudley much food for thought.

I loved your portrayal of Katie's family.  It looks like eccentricity isn't limited to the Weasleys! I loved how Katie's mum was worried that over demonstrations of magic would frighten Dudley.  Obviously, she has never met George Weasley. :-p

This story continues to have sufficient pace and keeps the attention for the next chapter.  Well done!

Reviewer: BenRG Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2007 11:58 AM Title: Chapter 5

Poor Dudley! It has often been argued that Petunia and Vernon abused him as badly they did Harry, just in a different way.  It must be difficult for him to defy them.  It must be even more difficult to express his feelings (it seems to be a problem for us blokes - can't express our feelings :-p ).

I'm looking forward to how this goes.  I think that there is still to be the final confontation with the parents with a possible chill in the relationship before the end.  I'll wait to see.

Reviewer: BenRG Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2007 02:19 AM Title: Chapter 4

This story's big moment was the body language between Dudley and Katie.  I doubt even they knew exactly how serious it was getting before that.  The stories of the "Er... what was their name again?" first times made me laugh.  Ten quid says that Katie was with McLaggen.  He strikes me as the sort of guy who, no matter how good his technique, would never stick in mind. :-p

BTW - The song sung by the fans of the Harpies was hillarious.  Especially that bit about "Turn around and have a hurl/You got beat by a bunch of girls!" XD

You know... I think that Dudley is going to enjoy teaching Katie about the muggle world.  I think that he is going to really enjoy telling his parents that he is getting serious with her.

Reviewer: BenRG Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2007 02:13 AM Title: Chapter 3

I must say that I love your portrayal of Petunia.  She really is the most neurotic mess, isn't she? There is probably a small library of unresolved guilt issues (not to mention that she was probably a little jealous of her sister's apparently managing to have two boyfriends - Severus and James). 

She also very obviously is trying to compensate for abusing Harry by spoiling Dudley.  It was inevitable that he would finally have to break away from her need to smother him, ironically in the same way that Bill and Charlie Weasley did with Molly.  Vernon... well, he is basically a walking cliché; I doubt that he has ever really been interested in Dudley except as a clone to carry on where he left off.

What makes this story really interesting is that it is mostly written from a grown-up Dudley's point of view.  It is therefore very interesting in that it gives a real outsider's POV on the wizarding world, its personalities and its social quirks.

My advice to Dudley? Don't worry about the long-term for now.  Just enjoy being with Katie.

BenRG's Rating: 8/10

Reviewer: BenRG Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2007 11:02 AM Title: Chapter 2

Aw! Fluffy and sweet!

I loved Katie's reaction to Shrek.  I also loved your portrayal of Petunia.  That is exactly how I imagine her to be - sweetness mixed with guilt trips when not deferred to.

BTW - I think that you have grossly underestimated Vernon's reaction to Dudley dating a w.... a w... a w... a Freak!!! ;-)

Reviewer: DBear Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2007 06:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

A verrrry interesting premise.  I'll be bookmarking this one.

Reviewer: BenRG Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2007 01:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

Well, it's good to read a story with a semi-human Dudley Dursley.  Of all the in-laws from hell, he is the one most likely to reform.  Why? Because Harry could have left him to the Dementors but didn't.

I think that your characterisations were sound.  Dudley's assessment of his parents is pretty good too.  However, I wonder if Vernon bullied Petunia too to make her so submissive and unwilling to stand up for her own wishes.

I assume that this is going to be a Dudley/Katie romance.  Goodness knows that would finish off The Blimp (my name for Vernon). ;-)

This is a good start for a story.  I will be looking out for more instalments.

You must login (register) to review.