Reviews For Getting There
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TheTrioMakesMeHot Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2010 06:50 PM Title: Canals (sequellette)

Loved this installment too, although I will admit I'd expected it would be set in France and we'd get to see the encounter with the elder Malfoys.

Author's Response: Thanks.  Alaana asked for something set in between the end of the main story and the epilogue.  She wanted to see something of their travels when Draco was finding himself, so I decided upon Venice :)

Reviewer: TheTrioMakesMeHot Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2010 06:08 PM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

Well ... I have attempted to review this chapter three different times on two different computers that were about 5 miles apart and operating off two unrelated ISPs.  I was trying to cut/paste a few of my favorite lines from the chapter, and every time I tried, the computer locked up and kicked me out of the internet.  Weird.

So this time I've come directly to the review screen without even looking at the chapter.  Messes up my review plan, but I did at least want to say I love what you did with this!  I loved Draco's line about it always being about Harry, and his comment towards the end about his plans for the next 10 minutes.

Really great job!



Author's Response: Thanks for reading and your perseverance to leave a comment:)  This story was a lot of work to try and capture what Draco was going through and not become melodramatic.  This story has seemed to touch a lot of people and it makes me feel good to hear from people about it.

Reviewer: TheTrioMakesMeHot Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/24/2010 01:45 PM Title: Part 1 of 2: Healer Granger-Weasley Gets a New Patient

Not sure how I missed this when you posted it, but I'm glad you've added something so I could find it now.  So far it seems very in-character for all of them and that always makes for a good read in my book!

Author's Response: Thanks so much.  It's been a while since I thought about this story, but I was more than happy to for Alaana. :)

Reviewer: darkpyroangel06 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2009 01:51 PM Title: Epilogue: Little Missives

I know it's been a little while since you wrote and published this, but wow. I loved this fic. It was amazing. I actually cried at one point. The raw emotions were just so real; I felt everything Draco was going through. I absolutely loved the little notes he sent himself from the future, telling him and me that his work eventually worked out and he used it to send a note. It wouldn't change the future dramatically, but it did change the future. Obviously, Draco chose to let Harry in anyways, but that little note... Wow. I mean, that's all I can think right now. Wow. Keep up the amazing work. I can't wait to read more of your writings. ~dpa06~

Author's Response: Thank you so much.  This fic took a lot of emotional energy so it always warms my heart to hear when people connected with it.  You should definitely check out the art too- it really compliments the story http://rickey.slashcity.net/gettingthere.html - scroll down for the art 

Reviewer: Pajama Pants Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2008 10:40 AM Title: Epilogue: Little Missives

Thanks for a great story. I really liked your portrayal of Draco - just the right amount of snarkiness when he was overcoming the past with Harry and Hermione. I love that none of the characters were melodramatic - which would have been really easy to do with such an emotional topic.

Author's Response: Thanks so much.  I worked hard to put this story together and do exactly that- be emotional without the melodrama.

Reviewer: zebraspots05 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2008 06:20 AM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

This is wonderful, and the ending is perfect!  I especially loved how you mirrored Harry's problems with Draco's...at first they seemed to be opposites (Harry a celebrity, Draco the outcast) but in fact they were both trapped in a life they couldn't live:  and then how you bring them together, so that they could live.  Very good.

Author's Response: Thanks.  I put a lot into this story and tried to make it emotional w/out being melodramatic.  I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it and it worked for you.

Reviewer: laurac Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/14/2008 03:59 AM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

I'm not sure I have the words.  Holy crap, that was good.  Maybe cause I'm reading it in the middle of the night, but the "first time" scene was incredibly emotional & touching.  Ha, touching....awesome.
Loved the writing.  "It was raw and desperate and they bled emotions onto sheets in a way that Draco never knew possible."  Ooo, baby.  
Now I go look for your other stories.  Thanks. 

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading & commenting. I'm pleased you liked the touching scene:)

Reviewer: jenngrint Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2008 01:21 PM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

That was great! I love how Draco trying to end his life started a new one for both him and Harry.

Author's Response: Thanks so much.

Reviewer: ladyedgecombe Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2008 06:38 AM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

I really loved your story.  I hope you have some follow-up stories to come.  Loved the fact that you touched on a subject that few know anything about.  Often suicide is because the person is just tired and gives up. Most people have no clue.  Thanks

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and dropping a line.  I did a bit of research for this story and I'm glad that it seemed realistic to you.

Reviewer: dreamweaver Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2008 01:49 AM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

This story is wonderful, I can't put it into words! how much I enjoyed reading this.  I'm glad that you keep Hermione a kind and understanding character and not changed her into a narrow minded witch.   I love your Draco!

Author's Response: Thanks so much.  I have an insatiable habit of putting Hermione, Pansy, and/or Ginny into my slashfics as "gal pals"- I can't stand when they get made into horrible shrews.

Reviewer: apachep Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/13/2008 12:59 AM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

Wow! I don't usually like Draco/Harry stories (usually into het and trio stories) but the concept got me to reading this. I know it's just a two section story, but you could make this a multi chapter story and it would be brilliant!

Good work!



Author's Response: Thank you, it's a huge compliment when folks let you know that they enjoyed a fic across their ship lines.

Reviewer: 8thWeasley Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2008 06:33 PM Title: Part 2 of 2: Draco Gets the Message

That was wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Reviewer: apachep Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/12/2008 01:51 AM Title: Part 1 of 2: Healer Granger-Weasley Gets a New Patient

Good start. I think your charicterazation of Draco is good. please continue. 

Author's Response: thanks; coming right up:)

Reviewer: zebraspots05 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2008 06:29 PM Title: Part 1 of 2: Healer Granger-Weasley Gets a New Patient

I really like this so far.  It can be difficult to do a piece with so  much dialogue, and keep it sounding natural, but you have done so.  Nice touch with Nightengale and Lark...too cute.  Can't wait for the next installment.

Author's Response: thanks:) conclusion coming right up;)

You must login (register) to review.