Reviews For After Effects
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: tralalalalaura Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2010 06:39 AM Title: Epilogue

What a great story! Thanks so much for sharing!
Laura

Author's Response: Thank you.  I'm glad that you enjoyed it.  I have a couple of extra one-shots with George and Rhiannon on my journal.  I should try to add them here as well.  Thank you again for taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2009 11:49 AM Title: Prologue

Midnight Feeding is the story by LuvsCharlie that acknowledges the joy of breastfeeding that you don't read about in "What to Expect When You're Expecting".  It's a sweet story.

Author's Response: Thank you for reminding me about that story.  I don't know if I put it in the author's notes, but that story was the inspiration for that part of my chapter.  I really enjoyed luvscharlie's story also.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2009 12:10 PM Title: Epilogue

What a sweet epilogue!  Thank you for showing us that Rhia truly did reconcile with her brother's family.  I love The big family and the closeness that George and Rhia still share! 

This has been a fun story to read along with .  Thanks for all of your hard work.  You don't just have good ideas, you have a great writing style as well!



Author's Response: Thank you.  I'm glad that you enjoyed the story.  I love the big happy family.  I'm also gratified that others see George as I do.  Thank you for all of your kind words throughout this entire story.  I have some more (unrelated) that I have to upload.  Thanks again.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2009 11:51 AM Title: Chapter 12--Canary Creams

Oh, I have just discovere that I am a complete idiot.  The odd transition bothered me enough that, (unfortunately, only after leaving a review and beginning the epilogue,) I went back and reread the chapter.  If I could erase part of my first review for this, I would. 

The transition is not jarring at all.  In an odd coincidence, I reread the story by LuvsCharlie just before I decided to see if this had been updated.  (Don't ask.  Serendipity, I suppose.  I've always liked that story.)  Anyway, I came from that to this, read the first bit, got as far as beginning the three years in the future bit, so that was sitting at the top of my screen looking like the beginning of the chapter.  I had to step away for twenty minutes or so to tend to my own children for a bit.  I suppose when I came back, I forgot that I wasn't at the beginning of the chapter.  Dumkopf, me!  I'm sorry.

And it wasn't because it's not a memorable part of the story.  It is.  In fact, I find it beautiful.  It's just because I had so recently had that very topic on my mind.  The transistioning was all fine.  (though, I do hold that I wish we'd learned more about Rhia's mam and all.)

So, reviewing only for the first bit of this, I love it.  I think you did a wonderful job with such an intimate bit of life.  And I'm as happy to see you address it as I was to read LuvsCharlie doing do.  Bless you both!



Author's Response:

The first review is fine.  I'm glad you sorted it out.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story.  There may be more on Rhia's family in the future in some one-shots, but most people reading it, I think were interested strictly in George and Rhia.  I will keep her stories in mind for any other stories.

I'm not sure which story you mean of luvscharlie's, but let me know so I can check it out.  Thanks.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2009 11:37 AM Title: Chapter 12--Canary Creams

I have no idea how I missed this chapter and the epilogue being posted!  I certainly am happy, though, that I went looking to see if maybe you had updated!

This is a great chapter, I especially enjoyed Ron's time in the shop.  That was a nice touch.  And I'm very happy to hear that George still has Rhia's Healer training in mind.  That's lovely. 

It was a bit jarring, though to jump from the last chapter to three years in the future.  I had hoped to learn a bit more about Rhia's mother and brother.  (In fact, I went back one chapter, thinking perhaps I'd skipped one.)  Still, I think you did a nice job relaying the changes that have taken place in that three years, such as the new baby, Verity marrying Quinn, and Rhia's mam dying.  Nice work, I'm looking forward to the epilogue in a few minutes!

Reviewer: jocelynsmama Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2008 01:51 PM Title: Epilogue

Oh My!!  I've loved every moment of this story!!  Maybe someday we'll hear tales of the kids years at school...

Author's Response: Thank you for sticking with it and for taking the time to comment.  I do have a couple of one-shots that I've done on Live Journal that I will try to put here after the New Year.  George and Rhiannon hold a special place in my heart, so despite not knowing how often, I would expect them to be around.  Thank you again.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2008 11:29 AM Title: Chapter 11--It's a Matched Set

Sigh.  Hurray for new babies!  I love the name Aubrey.  It's just lovely, (and we all know that Fred is the perfect name for the boy child.  smiling)

Author's Response: Thank you for continuing to read and taking the time to review.  For me, even before the story started, it's been Fred and Aubrey.  Sorry JKR.

Reviewer: Mariarose Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/06/2008 01:09 PM Title: Prologue

Thanks for this story, it was enjoyable to read.

 



Author's Response: Thank you.  I am so glad that you liked it.

Reviewer: jocelynsmama Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/05/2008 08:53 PM Title: Chapter 10--The Burrow

I just love this story!

Author's Response: Thank you.  I'm so glad you enjoy it.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/05/2008 07:40 PM Title: Chapter: 9 Complications

Alzheimer's Disease is dreadful.  It's difficult and depressing to live with.  Now that we know Mrs. Jones is going through something similar, I find her to be a sympathetic character after all.  Good work with this.

Author's Response: Alzheimer's explains it better - people understand it.  She has a magical malady.  I'm glad she becomes sympathetic.  I didn't want her to be a horrible mother.  Some are, but sometimes circumstances change us and the war and death of her husband certainly took a horrific toll on Mrs. Jones.  Thank you for continuing to read.  It is also very kind of you to take the time to write a comment and review.  I like to read what your thoughts are.  Thank you.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2008 01:36 PM Title: Chapter 8--Hogwarts Express

Hurray for Bill as Head of Gryffindor House!  Thanks for another terrific update.  You did a great job showing us the gentlemen's side of dealing with pregnancy insecurities.  And what a lovely gentleman, indeed, to insist on being allowed to care for the twins now by caring for the mother as they incubate!  Hurray for George for being a man, not just a sperm donor!

Author's Response:

I always felt that George would make a terrific father.  I've said elsewhere that I would expect him to have a houseful of kids like he had growing up.  His parents raised all of their kids to be strong and to know what's right, even if the people in their lives may not be accepting of it.  George tried for awhile to help Rhia, even before he knew about the babies, and he wouldn't let her push him away.

I'm also glad you liked Bill as the new Head of House.  I can see him doing it for a year, and I couldn't think of a more qualified Gryffindor to teach Defense Against the Dark Arts.

Thanks for continuing to read and review.  It is very much appreciated.

Reviewer: hmrpotter Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2008 09:26 PM Title: Prologue

This is a very beautiful chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you.  And thank you for taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2008 09:04 AM Title: Chapter 7--The Secret's Out, No Really

This is just an excellent chapter!  First, let me say that I'm just giddy with all the baby information!  (Don't you just love those online pregnancy calculators?)  Your author's note made me smile, because I can just hear a bunch of nitpickers going up around you.  You were probably smart to cover yourself!

I loved your George from the beginning, but if I didn't, his discussion with Arthur and Molly would have won me over.  What a down to earth, up front, unflinching revelation that was!  I have so much respect for the fact that you had him give information and take responsibility without losing any privacy or taking any shame for the new parents-to-be.  That was just brilliant.

I can't wait to find out what the heck is up with Rhia's mother.  That whole flip-flop of behaviour was just psycho!  (Frankly, my mother acted a bit that way for a few months til the docs figured out that her thyroid was way out of whack and got that all adjusted.  But, it was hell.  And I don't think you're going to be telling us that Rhia's mother has a thyroid condition.  So, I can't wait to see what you do have in store for us!) 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for this nice review.  You actually made my day.  I am so glad that you are enjoying the story.  I'm glad that you like George.  I made him a little softer because of the lack of Fred, but I tried to keep his sense of humor and playfulness intact, so I hope that shows through.  Rhia's mom's condition is discussed later on.  The postings should be a bit more frequent.  My beta/validator was on holiday, but she's back now, so hopefully it won't be so far between chapters.

Again, thank you for continuing to read.

Reviewer: iris m Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2008 02:07 PM Title: Prologue

ok i just went and finished this story and omg....i just love how you finished off this story. loved everything about it.

thank you for posting the link so i could finish it. good work but so far there has been nothing about your works thats i did not like.

i just hope to see more of your works soon, and again, i loved it! 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you enjoyed this story.  I hated finishing it.  Stories will appear on my LJ page before they are posted here, but eventually all of my HP stories will get to The Quidditch Pitch.

Thanks for reading.  There will be an additional one-shot sometime in December.

Reviewer: iris m Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/03/2008 06:49 PM Title: Chapter 6--The Secret's Out

please say you will be posting the rest of this soon.

i love this so much, well done 



Author's Response:

I'm just waiting for my Quidditch Pitch beta to return from holiday.  If you want to continue the story before that, you can read it on my journal page.  Chapter 7 begins here:http://ceirdwenfc.livejournal.com/34296.html, and they are all linked to each other.  It goes up to chapter 12 plus an epilogue.

Thanks for reading, and enjoying the story.

You must login (register) to review.