You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2014 10:07 PM Title: Tragedy

Thanks for the latest chapters. The plot thickens regarding the murders Harry is investigating, and the relationship between the women grows also. I really like the characters you have created in this story, and the way you are portraying a grown up Harry and Ginny, Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2013 07:35 PM Title: Waxing Gibbous

I have a broken arm & typing is hard. Good chapter.

Author's Response: How hard canit be? I only use two fingers. :-D Seriously, sorry to hear that, and thanks for the review. -N-

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2013 09:27 PM Title: Waxing Gibbous

Ooh! A cliffie! I just love reading this story, and I can't wait to see where this murder story winds up! Ginny's, "Bother, forget I told you that name," made me think of Hagrid and his repeated accidental dropping of secrets.

Author's Response: The next chapter will be an Interlude. You need to kknow what's really happening. -N-

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2013 09:06 PM Title: First Quarter

Redesdale? Nettle? Ah, fine Northumberland cheeses. Aren't you the clever one?! :) I'll have to look about for those, next time I'm over the water; I have a feeling I'll not find them in the States, even in swanky import shops. Thanks for the Half Man Half Biscuit tip. I've not heard them before, but, they're rather good!

Author's Response: Yes, an unsolicited advert for the Northumberland Cheese Company and HMHB ("the most authentic British folk band since The Clash"). I expect their UK culture references are impossible for most foreigners to understand the jokes: 99% of Gargoyles look like Bob Todd! -N-

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2013 08:07 PM Title: First Quarter

I do want that snotty bitch, Mary, to get what's coming to her! laughing I swear, I think I've gone to school with her twin, and am so happy to have left people like her behind! I loved this chapter, so much. I really like Mike and Jacqui. They're good family people.

Author's Response: :-D And here was me worried that the loud and opinionated schoolgate mum she's based on might be a one-off. It's reassuring (though sad) to discover that she exists elsewhere. Next, Jacqui returns to Drakeshaugh, and then we'll have an interlude in the Auror Office. -N-

Reviewer: Weaselbee03 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2013 04:09 AM Title: The Drop Off

You are quickly becoming my most favorite author here on the quidditch pitch. I absolutely love that your stories are actually one in several parts. I had read some individually and then realized (from your bio) they are all meant to flow together, which they do quite naturally. Keep up the excellent work.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I really must update my bio and put all of my stories in order up there. From Killers (1940) to Zygosis (2026) they all fit together, apart from "Is Draco Malfoy a Git", which I don't regard as being part of my future for Harry & Co. -N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2013 06:42 PM Title: The Drop Off

My husband, who has never met a pun he didn't like, enjoyed your response. He wants to meet you the next time we are in the UK.

Author's Response: I coouldn't resist that one, we'll see... -N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/28/2012 09:00 PM Title: The Drop Off

Young girls and desserts - a dangerous combination! I'm glad you are able to update frequently. Happy New Year!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. It was a mere trifle. :-) Happy new year to you, too. -N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2012 01:14 AM Title: Nosh and Natter

Ooo, good chapter! Lots of conversation, undercurrents, etc.

Author's Response: Thanks you. More soon. -N-

Reviewer: amberpup Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2012 05:01 AM Title: The Drop Off

I agree, Luna at the school gates was wonderful. In fact, one of the best Luna I've read. As to the family pool scene, I had to laugh at Ron and his opinions. Being a person myself who knew people heavy into swimming and on the swim team, its fun to read how horrified Ron was with what my friends did every day.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

I find Luna incredibly difficult to write. She may be eccentric, but she’s also compassionate and extremely intelligent. I hope I’m getting better at her.

Ron, like many, doesn’t understand what Jacqui is trying to achieve in the swimming pool. He’ll learn.

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2012 05:53 PM Title: A Breakdown, a Bike and a Barmy Blonde Again

I love Luna's encounter with Mary!  Thanks for another great chapters.

Author's Response:

Thanks

 

Luna was always going to win. :-) I'll try to post more soon

 

-N-

Reviewer: amberpup Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2012 10:39 AM Title: The Drop Off

I've come to enjoy reading about Jacqui's life as well. In many ways, she reminds me of other women I've met over the years. Even the varies children are prefectly written, capturing just the right amount of youthful chaos. No creeping adultism in you find in some other stories, which I find very refreshing.

 All around, bloody well done!



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.

 

I really had no idea how this story, or Jacqui wiuld be received. I hope that I've made thegrowing friendship between Jacqui and Ginny realistic.The ony thing they really have in common is that both have young families, But really, when the kids are all five-and-under, that's all you need.

 

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2012 08:46 PM Title: A Confusion of Weasleys

What a treat to log in after a number of weeks and discover 4 new chapters!!!  I love the way you move the perspective between Jacqui and Ginny.  And you weave the ordinary and the magical together beautifully.  I just love this story.  And I like the speculation that Jacqui might have magical blood.  It will be interesting to see if she become aware of it, and if so, what Harry and Ginny will do/tell her about it.

 

My husband took me to England for my birthday in May.  We spent 6 days, 3 in London, and the rest in Salibury and Bath.  Had a great time and I saw so many things I only dreamed of - Stonehenge, Bath, the Tower of London, etc.  Next time we are heading north.  Maybe we can arrange to meet?



Author's Response: Thank you.

Ginny and Jacqui have bonded over the things they share (raising young kids) which is actually a fairly solid basis for a friendship, at this stage in their lives. Jacqui won’t discover anything in this story, but who knows what the future holds? (Actually, I know :-D)

Has no one warned you about meeting strange men who you’ve met over the internet? :-D Actually, I’m jealous. I’ve never been to Bath, or Stonehenge. We have lots of standing stones, and hill forts, and rock art, but nothing as grand as Stonehenge. Of course, we do have The Wall.

-N-

Reviewer: Lucius_Vorenus Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2012 11:06 AM Title: The Drop Off

This has started off as a rather excellent story.
And highly unusual too, your perspective of the Potters through Jacqui's eyes.
I don't think I have come across fan fiction like this before. All canon events are in the past and you can play with Ginny, Harry, Hermione and Ron, their kids and family for at least a couple of years of their lives leading up to the "All was well" of 2019 from the DH Epilogue.

You set the tone very well, so real and believable: proper English language, geography, and many other things make me think you must be British as well. I think history, folklore and some ancient rites and traditions of druidic Britain might follow with the Potters living in Drakeshaugh.

So far I liked all the people you introduced and I am sure the mothering small children stuff comes from your own experience. It provided an excellent bond between the Potters and their Muggle neighbours, something Ginny and Harry surely must have wanted.

Looking forward to the housewarming party and all the surprises, human interaction, discoveries and revelations.

Looking also forward to the crime and suspense you seem to have in store for us.

Spin your tale well and me and your readers will follow you to the end.

Your story is at the top of my favourite list now and I am looking very much forward to any new chapters.

Keep writing, JKR will be proud of you for your story is truely unique.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.

All of my stories take place at various points on one, increasingly complicated timeline. This particular tale takes place in late 2009, James is almost five, and the Battle is eleven years in the past. JKR left a huge gap for me to play in, and that's what I'm doing.

Not only am I Britich, but the places are lreal, and not far from me. Alwinton, Harbottle and the Drake Stone all exist, although I've had to reorganise the geography a little to fit Drakeshaugh into the landscape.

The mothering stuff isn't from experience, fathering, however, is a different matter :-)  Schoolgate friendships are funny things, you can't choose your kids' friends for them. I hope that I've explained why Harry and Ginny are doing what they are doing in the story.

The housewarming party is being written, but it's still some way off. The crime and suspense will play a bigger role too, though not for some time.

Thanks again for the review, and the kind words.

-N-

Reviewer: Annemarie Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2012 11:03 PM Title: Wet Afternoon

I am so happy to read a new chapter.  It's fun to see magical people through the eyes of Muggles.  And Jacqui is just a little too observant.  I'm certainly looking forward to more.

Author's Response:

I love writing this, although it's a tightrope walk, Jacqui has to be able to see and hear enough to let you know what's really going on, while not seeing so much that she gets Obliviated.

-N-

You must login (register) to review.