Reviews For Princes of Maine
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: mapleandmahogany Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2007 09:26 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

*sigh* Just wonderful. I so enjoyed Ron making him healthy again - that teeth cleaning spell! - and feeding him. This Ron was perfect. I adored Harry getting in the bath with the baby, and their reconnecting after so long had such heartwarming depth and good pacing. Harry's constant struggle with his body was hilarious and adorably sexy, and the first kiss just had me breathless.

I'm so glad I finally read this. Thank you for the wonderful read. I just wish I'd read it sooner! *happysigh* 

Reviewer: mapleandmahogany Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/29/2007 07:02 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

Hi! I remember the day shocolate ordered everyone to read this, and I have wanted to for so long. I haven't yet, because (30k!) but I have just now settled in to enjoy it. 

I'm not remotely done, but I wanted to comment on the first parts that I've read so far. I've really enjoyed this Harry and love him immediately finding kinship with this baby left on a doorstep as he was. He named her after Ron's eyes *meep* The whole world here is very rich and wonderfully detailed, from the description of the parents in the shop to the card game gang, it's all very palpable. 

I was so heartbroke to see the depths of Harry's seclusion and he's just written letters to his friends and reading how Ron writes him every week and doesn't seem to have a significant others has just melted me.

Ok - that's all - I'm off to read more. :D 

Reviewer: Verdenia Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2006 12:00 AM Title: Chapter 1/1

Neat.  a very cute and sweet story.  ;D

Reviewer: Jenadamson Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/14/2006 12:01 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

Oh, this was fantastic.  Totally fantastic.  I especially love your characterisation of Ron!! 

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

Reviewer: oldbookworm Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2006 03:52 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

I read this last night and I didn’t review but I found that that your story stayed with me. You were truly able to capture the depth of emotion in someone who is trying to escape reality and all the problems that go with it. I love how you brought out all the complexities of the Ron/Harry relationship and didn’t skip over the harder issues.

            The only thing I would suggest is that maybe you could break this into two chapters, not because the story needs it but I got a strange gray bar in the middle of the story and I am guessing that it’s a computer issue because it was so long??



Author's Response: I'm glad it made such a lasting impression. I just wish I knew the exact formula for creating such an impression! It's all chance and luck. Sorry about the grey bar -- I'm not really au fait with technology beyond surfing, but I'll see what I can do! Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: Dream_wia_Dream Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2006 04:39 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

Simply phenomenal.  I don't know how else to describe this.  The scenery you pained was so vivid, it was amazing.  By the end, I found myself wanting it to just go on and on and on.  

Author's Response:

Thank you very much! I'm slowly being seduced by the whole R/H paradigm, so I'm sure I will go on and on and on. :)

Reviewer: simons_flower Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2006 09:54 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

This came highly recommended by both shocolate and annie and I have to say I agree whole-heartedly.

The picture you paint of Harry post-war is heartwrenching, but they way he changes with Sky/Matilda in his life made me laugh in places and get choked up in others.

Now, for the sexual tension... just wow.  I loved the observations about The Grin (though the first time I saw the capitalization on those two words, I thought it said "The Grim" and I heard it in Seamus's voice in PoA).

Excellent work!


Author's Response:

Thank you! I guess children can be an awful burden, but there's always a good side to things to -- for Harry, the chance to make something more of his life than a used hero.

 Oh god! That's funny in a sort of terrible way. I'm always doubtful about capitalisation, but then again if I didn't I'd have kept pointless repeating 'grin', 'grinning' etc, and I hate that.

 Thank you!



Author's Response: Yuck, two grammar mistakes. My apologies -- was typing too quickly!

Reviewer: Mystic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2006 03:38 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

Great story.  I really enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you did.

Reviewer: shocolate Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2006 03:17 PM Title: Chapter 1/1

I love this fic so much I could just burst.

And quoting the best bits of a 30k word Harry/Ron could end up the same length as some fics.

But.

“No.” Ron smiled a lazy grin that was entirely new. It was the sort of smile that could melt ice-sculptures. Perhaps it was a coming-of-age present from Ron’s genetics.

*sigh*

And Harry watching Ron's arse, of course.

And I would so follow Ron round Tesco, caressing stuff he'd put back on the shelves.

oh - Harry's mind was busily sewing all the glimpses of Ron -- the edge of his knee, a bare toe, the firelight on his hair -- into a huge patchwork quilt of porn.

And kisses…

Oh, oh, oh - All at once, cool fingers were drawing his hand away. "Let me deal with that," said Ron, suddenly sounding every inch the authoritative Healer
 

But mainly that Harry is broken and adrift, and Ron is strong and loving and they are perfect together!



Author's Response:

And I would so follow Ron round Tesco, caressing stuff he'd put back on the shelves.

Perhaps, if I ever write a sequel, I can bring back the blue-rinse lady and let her do erotic things to Ron with the toothbrush while Harry watches?! Your choice of name, of course.

 Endless love for you, as ever.

You must login (register) to review.