You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2013 07:03 AM Title: Chapter Two: All That We See or Seem

I'm suddenly getting deja vu. If I've read this before, I don't remember it, however, Remus helping Harry into the bath, dressing him, and Harry leaning back into him for support as he shaves, these are quite familiar to me. They're very tender and paternal. Lovely work.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2013 06:56 AM Title: Chapter One: In Parting From You Now

I'm intrigued. You're doing a wonderful job of capturing this mental limbo in which Harry is trapped.

Reviewer: Neptune Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2013 03:04 PM Title: Chapter One: In Parting From You Now

Oh my goodness, what a splendid story. I love the way you weave tragedy with a feel-good atmosphere, and the characterisations are marvellous, particularly for Remus and Ginny! An interesting take on the DH canon, but one I can actually appreciate COULD happen!
One query I have- in this version of events, what happens to Snape? How do we (or Harry) find out his true allegiance? What happens to him during the battle? I'm presuming he survives, but I'd like to know more!
All in all, your writing style is magnificent and this story stands out, I eagerly await any sequel!

Author's Response: Thank you so much; it's so nice to get such a warm comment on this story after such a long time. It's one of my personal favourites that I wrote when I was in Potter fandom, but, like much of my gen fic, I never felt like it got the same amount of appreciation as stories I wrote that were centred around pairings. There wasn't a huge following for genfic back when I wrote this, and the ship lines were pretty heavily drawn, unlike fandoms I've been in since where pairing fic and gen fic are much more fluid and intermingled. To be honest, it's been so long since I wrote this that I don't remember Snape's fate; I'm sure I had an idea at the time, but I've forgotten it. I may have addressed it if someone asked me in the comments on my fic journal - if you go to shadowfiction at livejournal then find All That We See or Seem in the masterlist, you can go to the story chapters and read the comments to find out what answers I gave people at the time about extra world-building stuff.

Reviewer: azerjaban Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2012 11:44 AM Title: Chapter One: In Parting From You Now

Aww poor Harry- but where are the Weasleys? 

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2010 09:29 AM Title: Chapter Seven: If Hope Has Flown Away

You came up with an ending that gives me great hope for all of my personal happy endings to come true.  What a happy way to close things!  I think you did a marvelous job with this story.  I found it in the random story queue, and I'm so happy I decided to give it a go!  Thanks!

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2010 09:18 AM Title: Chapter Six: And I Hold Within My Hand

I am utterly bemused by this story.  This chapter was perfectly Dumbledore.  Remus shed as much light on the man as Dumbledore himself has ever done, really.  Hmm...A touch mad, and able to find and give happiness in the simplest ways.  Brilliant, really.

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2010 09:05 AM Title: Chapter Five: Can I Not Grasp

Hmph.  I hope that Ron and Hermione get together again at a future date.  The bit with Draco's hawthorne wand was quite moving, as was Harry's trying the Snitch.  I'm on to the next!

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2010 08:51 AM Title: Chapter Three: You Are Not Wrong

My God!  Through the looking glass, indeed!  I'm so glad that Remus and Fred are alive.  Does this mean I have hopes for Tonks, too?

Reviewer: melakem Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2010 08:46 AM Title: Chapter Two: All That We See or Seem

Well, this is the most fascinating and mysterious story!  I hate even taking the time to review, because I'm so desperate to get to the next chapter!

Reviewer: QueenHal Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2008 12:57 PM Title: Chapter Seven: If Hope Has Flown Away

Well, this is a little jewel! It's hard to be satisfied, knowing Harry had so little to do with Voldemort's final demise... but the things we get in exchange are such gems: Remus and Tonks! Neville defeating Bella! I'm looking forward to seeing life after "The Chosen One"

Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it.

I've played with the idea a couple of times now of Harry's role in the final defeat being minimal. To be built up for so many years to be this 'final solution' to the problem of Voldemort...  I think the emotional fallout from that would be quite harsh for Harry, whether he did the deed or not. He went into the forest in canon fully expecting to die. Surviving would leave him with a sense of superfluousness, and he'd need something else to give him direction. In this story, it's Remus, and presumably Tonks and Teddy as well. That's not to say that his other friends won't be helping and supporting him, but being a part of Remus's family will be the anchor he needs for some time, until he works out who he is as a person without the constant threat Voldemort presents.

Reviewer: potterhead37 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2008 05:11 PM Title: Chapter Five: Can I Not Grasp

I've read through these first five chapters, and I must say that this is a very intriguing premise and beginning.  I like the pace and the details, and how they fit into Harry's p.o.v.  The short chapters work as you're updating so quickly, and so the suspense is building.  You've created a good amount of suspense so far, and I look forward to a great ride.


Author's Response: I seem to naturally write chapters that are between 1,000 and 2,500 words long. At least, that's what I've found with my WIPs. This is going up quickly, like Rubric Moments, my other chaptered story on here did, because I completed it before I started posting it anywhere. That allowed me to polish it and make sure it worked as a whole. I know most people would post an 11,000 word story as a one-shot, but when I read it through, it had natural breaking points, and a seven part story with short chapters is often more digestible for 'busy' readers than a long one-shot. I felt the breaks heightened the sense of Harry's progress, too. Each chapter highlighted a step forward in his recovery.

Reviewer: sgt_majorette Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/2008 08:30 PM Title: Chapter Three: You Are Not Wrong

Have you ever had any experience with hypnogogic/hypnopompic hallucinations (so-called "lucid dreaming"? Narcolepsy? Did you ever see a movie called Jacob's Ladder? I'm getting the same chills from this story!

Warn me if it's going to end badly!!!!



Author's Response: Narcolepsy, no. Hypnogogic hallucinations, yes. Never seen Jacob's Ladder. And I think you're worrying too much. :)

Reviewer: scribhneoir Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/10/2008 04:51 AM Title: Chapter Three: You Are Not Wrong

this is wonderful. Original and intriguing, you manage to create a really unique story. The Remus and Harry interactions are wonderful, and I like the way you've kept Harry's interactions with others to a minimum, it really emphasises the impact of these moments. Remus' characterisation is also wonderful.

Well done!



Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to centre the story firmly around their interaction, and though others come into it in the later chapters, the story remains primarily a Harry and Remus gen fic. Because the hospital ward itself doesn't really change, the conversations Harry shares with Remus are the way he marks the passing of time as his awareness grows and sharpens in the first few chapters. Though Remus is almost always there, he doesn't simply become part of the scenery (as Madam Pomfrey does, with her repetitive question and potions and rigid routine) because he provides Harry with information and acts as an anchor whenever Harry is at risk of placing too much weight on fantasy. I'm glad you like my Remus! He's very dear to me, and I'm particularly happy with how I captured him in this little series.

Reviewer: zimphella Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2008 09:40 AM Title: Chapter Two: All That We See or Seem

Love the story. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! The next one should go up later today.

Reviewer: Insidious Ginny Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2008 08:22 PM Title: Chapter Two: All That We See or Seem

What... what... what? Wonderful work, but I'm confused. Is it completed yet?

Author's Response: This is a seven part series. The other five chapters will go up over the next week and a bit, at a rate of one roughly every two days. :)

You must login (register) to review.