Reviews For Where Eagles Fly
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: dreamer758 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2011 11:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. Wow.
Honestly! :)
You tugged at my heartstrings a bit with this story (my father was in the Air Force, we lived on base in Lakenheath until I was about four.) and you intrigued me with Ron's actions. I read the past reviews and it is totally a Ron thing to want to help others out in such a way. I've never read a fic quite like this, and I can't wait for those updates you're promising. ;) I love the way you've incorporated military jargon and just the idea itself is so fresh! Uhhh.
I'm babbling. Sorry! I love it. Can't wait for more. Thank you so much for sharing!!



Author's Response: Thanks for the response. I know, I gotta get the next chapter(s) done. I'm done with school and I'm going to try to get something up soon, just gotta get over this case of writer's block I've had since I graduated. ARGH. My uncle was Air Force, worked on radars stateside. He now works for the FAA. I have a friend at Pensacola training to be a WSO in Strike Eagles. I know others who are crew chiefs and an instructor in the police academy was an Air Force firefighter.

Reviewer: Speedstream Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 08:46 AM Title: Chapter 2

Loved it! Please update soon :D

Author's Response: I gotta work on this, I know, and I apologize to everybody following this for the delay. Hopefully I can get some work done on the next chapter and maybe some more, but after nine-hour days learning about Stops and Approaches, Warrantless searches, Pressure points, and the Laws of arrest, among other topics, it's hard to get the brain focused on creativity...

Reviewer: srfreddy Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2010 07:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

Excellent story so far, any chance on updates?

Author's Response: It's coming. Had a busy semester (six classes and five of those had papers or homework due at some point in the semester). I'm kinda stuck on how I want to have the third chapter proceed. The basic idea I want is still there, but it's the extra stuff I'm trying to figure out.

Reviewer: mclaughlin Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2010 05:23 AM Title: Chapter 2

Hello, I have reviewed 2 months ago and I really like this story so far. I have one question? Will you be updating soon?

Author's Response: As soon as I get some motivation and some time, yes, it's getting updated. The workload for my Criminal Procedures and Constitutional Issues class this week is fairly light, so there will be some headway made on getting a new chapter or two up.

Reviewer: mclaughlin Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/17/2010 06:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoy this story so far. I like that you have Ron finally do something for himself for a change in order to get out from under Harry's and his families shadow and try and find his place in the world. Interesting that you have Ron give up magic and escape to the Muggle world - I think that this is just what Ron needs to do and his joining the air force is exactly the right thing for him to do as he comes from a family who has known war and been touched by tragedy so he would feel a sense of duty to help his fellow man in trying to keep the world arould him at peace. If that means leaving everything he cherishes then that is exactly what he will sacrifice. I look forward to the next update, please don't take too long as I am already addicted to this story. Excellent writing - keep up the good work.

Author's Response: First, to everybody else, this is not a plant. :P :D jk. But really, thanks for the response and glad you like the story so far. I've read the books to number 6, and I did definitely sense a sort of inferiority role being played by Ron, like he wanted to be a martyr because then he's proved himself capable in the eyes of his friends. I think having Ron "suffer" battle fatigue in a sense makes him realize that hey, maybe wanting to jump on the proverbial grenade (jump in front of an Avada curse to save Harry or Hermione) for his buddies is not what a seventeen-year-old should aspire to do. So because of that, he leaves to go find himself, to find what is really laid out for him, not what he thinks is laid out for him, seen through war-colored lenses. And it's not really getting out of Harry's shadow as it is getting out from under his mother. It's been said "Mother knows best," but from reading the books and some of the canon-based fanfics on here and on other sites, she does so at the very real risk of giving Ron an inferiority complex, that whatever he does cannot, and will not measure up to whatever his brothers have done, especially Percy. And I feel that he has to get out of that shadow and do things for himself, not because Mama wants him to do a certain thing or because it's the family occupation. And the writing? Well, you have the Benedictine Monks to thank for that ;).

Reviewer: Sandrinha Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2010 02:05 PM Title: Chapter 2

I'm intrigued by this story even if sometimes i get lost in all the army name and codes lol. One complain so far, Ron sounds too American and i was hoping to see him embrace the land that welcomed him and yet retain some of those British traits. Since i have no idea where you are taking this story i'll just have to wait and see what comes next.

One question - Were R&HR in a relationship? I'm asking because in his letter he said that he would always love her, so i'm assuming they knew about each other's feelings.



Author's Response: For the second question, yes. Think one of those teenage flings, but somewhat deeper. If you read the books, you can sense the sexual tension between the two as the series moves on, so it kind of makes sense. And as to the first one, you'll just have to wait and see ;).

Reviewer: tabitoo Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2010 03:18 PM Title: Chapter 2

Interesting story, I'd like to see where it goes.

Reviewer: iris m Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2010 04:38 AM Title: Chapter 2

I hope you post the next chapter soon...this is real good so far :)

Reviewer: TrixieBerry13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2010 05:30 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really like this so far but I have a few questions. If Ron left the magical world because of the fighting then why would he join the military later?



Author's Response: A crisis of conscience. Don't forget, he was seventeen when he bailed to the States. It will be fleshed out a bit further in future chapters. A chapter I did for an alternate draft will be a flashback a bit later...

Reviewer: GMONEY46203 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2010 10:39 AM Title: Chapter 2

I'm definitely looking forward to the inevitable meeting between Ron and Hermione.  Keep 'em coming.

Reviewer: bingobaby Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/28/2010 09:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

looking forward to more

Reviewer: Catalytic Angel Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/30/2010 07:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

intriguing start i like the military sections, but thought that last section with Herm just saying Ron would approve then Ginny having her say etc  thought was a bit jarring but I think also necessary it just didn't seem as smoothly written as the rest of the fic. Also what's PCSing?

Author's Response: What I meant with that last section was that Ron would approve of the engagement. They don't know Ron's 65 miles away at the time of the conversation. As for Ginny, she definitely would be somewhat upset (the understatement of the year) at Ron leaving. Remember the Weasley siblings' reaction to Percy? As for the writing style at the end, I just ran out of ideas. PCSing is what military members say when they are in the process of a Permanent Change of Station, or moving from one base to another. I wrote that as I imagined two military members talking about it.

Reviewer: GMONEY46203 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2010 08:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoyed this first chapter, and I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes.  One negative for me though:  I hate Herm as a nickname for Hermione.  I've always preferred 'Mione.  Other than that, excellent work.

Author's Response: Thanks! As for the nickname, I always felt that that nickname was reserved for Ron and Ron alone-his pet name for her if you will.

You must login (register) to review.